Skip to Content

CDT Announces Members of 2017-2018 Advisory Council

The Center for Democracy & Technology (CDT) is delighted to announce the members of its 2017-2018 Advisory Council. This year’s cohort comprises 64 members from a wide variety of organizations and experiences, many of whom are leaders in the tech policy field.

“At CDT, we are always excited to welcome a diverse chorus of voices to the important conversations that are shaping the future of technology policy. We look forward to another year of work enriched by the generous contributions of our Advisory Council members,” said CDT President & CEO Nuala O’Connor.

The Advisory Council meets several times a year, and operates separately from CDT’s Board of Directors. The members are as follows:

Nancy C. Libin, Co-Chair, CDT Advisory Council & Partner, Jenner & Block LLP

Daniel J. Weitzner, Co-Chair, CDT Advisory Council & Principal Research Scientist, MIT Computer Science & Artificial Intelligence Lab

John Bailey, Fellow, Chan Zuckerberg Initiative

Stephen Balkam, Founder & CEO, Family Online Safety Institute

Alvaro Bedoya, Executive Director, Center on Privacy & Technology, Georgetown Law

Jerry Berman, Founder & Former President, Center for Democracy & Technology

Alyssa Betz, Senior Director of Public Policy, Oath

Mark Bohannon, Vice President, Global Public Policy & Government Affairs, Red Hat

J. Beckwith (“Becky”) Burr, Chief Privacy Officer, Neustar

Jon Callas, Cryptographer

Dan Caprio, Co-founder & Chairman, The Providence Group

Cordell Carter, Executive Director, Socrates Program, Aspen Institute

Pablo Chavez, Vice President, Global Public Policy, LinkedIn

Soraya Chemaly, Director, Speech Project, Women’s Media Center

Alissa Cooper, Distinguished Engineer in the Collaboration Technology Group, Cisco

Maura Corbett, Founder & CEO, Glen Echo Group

Robert Corn-Revere, Partner, Davis Wright Tremaine LLP

James Dempsey, Executive Director, Berkeley Center for Law & Technology

Nicholas Diamand, Partner, Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein LLP

Patrick Dolan, Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer, Interactive Advertising Bureau

Eileen Donahoe, Executive Director, Global Digital Policy Incubator at Stanford University

Erin Egan, Chief Privacy Officer of Policy, Facebook

Caroline Elkin, Senior Director, Legal, Chief Privacy Officer, Activision Blizzard

Donna Epps, Vice President, Public Policy & Strategic Alliances, Verizon

Nick Feamster, Professor of Computer Science & Deputy Director, Center for Information Technology & Policy at Princeton University

Harley Geiger, Director of Public Policy, Rapid7

Michael Gottlieb, President, Ballast Research

Marc Groman, Privacy & Data Protection Advisory/Business Strategy, Marc Groman LLC

Jim Halpert, Partner, DLA Piper LLP

Mona Hamdy, Advisor, DataZoom

Leslie Harris, Founder & Principal, Harris Strategy Group LLC

Jessica Herrera-Flanigan, Executive Vice President of Government & Corporate Affairs, Univision Communications Inc.

Todd Hinnen, Partner, Perkins Coie LLP

Jane Horvath, Senior Director, Global Privacy, Apple Inc.

Gus Hosein, Executive Director, Privacy International

Frederick S. Humphries, Vice President of U.S. Government Affairs, Microsoft

Brian Huseman, Vice President, Public Policy, Amazon

Chris Kelly, Founder, Kelly Investments

Karen Kornbluh, Senior Fellow for Digital Policy, Council on Foreign Relations

Adam Kovacevich, Senior Director of U.S. Public Policy & Government Relations, Google

Stephanie Martz, General Counsel, National Retail Federation

Elliot Maxwell, Chairman, e-Maxwell & Associates

Caroline McCarthy, Vice President, Communications & Content, true[x]

Bruce Mehlman, Founding Partner, Mehlman Castagnetti Rosen & Thomas

Katie Moussouris, Founder & CEO, Luta Security

Laura Murphy, President, Laura Murphy & Associates, LLC

Michael Nelson, Public Policy, Cloudflare

David Olive, Principal, Catalyst Partners

Lydia Parnes, Partner, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati

Michael Petricone, Senior Vice President of Government Affairs, Consumer Technology Association

Renate Samson, Chief Executive, Big Brother Watch

Ari Schwartz, Managing Director of Cybersecurity Services, Venable LLP

Jonah Seiger, Founder & CEO, Connections Media LLC

Jon Selib, Partner, Holdingham Group

Nico Sell, Chairman & Founder, 533DZ, r00tz, & Wickr

Tim Sparapani, Founder & Principal, SPQR Strategies, PLLC

Anne Toth, Founder & CEO, PrivacyWorks LLC

Peter Dengate Thrush, Former Chairman, ICANN

Tokë Vandervoort, Vice President & Deputy General Counsel, Under Armour

Stewart Verdery, CEO & Founder, Monument Policy Group

Justin Weiss, Global Head of Data Privacy, Naspers

Heather West, Senior Policy Manager, Mozilla

Christopher Wolf, Partner, Hogan Lovells

Jessie Woolley-Wilson, President & CEO, DreamBox Learning, Inc.